Originally, services were held in the dining room of the Laurent Guichon home until a church could be built at Port Guichon. Bishop Paul Durieu of New Westminster blessed the first church on November 15, 1891. on the invitation of Archbishop William Duke of Vancouver, the Augustinians came to Ladner in 1943 and took over the diocesan seminary ( originally the McNeeley residence ), which had been vacant since 1939. Besides their commitment to establish a retreat house and to open a Marian shrine under the title of Mother of Consolation, the Augustinians were also to be responsible for the needs of the parish. in 1966, a new parish church was constructed at its present location. This construction was largely through the voluntary labour of the parishioners and the active participation and guidance of the long-time pastor, Father Othmar Mussmacher.
In 1991, as part of Sacred Heart’s Centennial celebration, the church was refurbished and re-dedicated to the service of the Catholic Community in the Ladner and Tsawwassen area.
Today, Sacred Heart Parish, with approximately 1,800 families, is a well-established and vibrant faith community. It continues its tradition of very active participation and a strong sense of ownership by the parishioners. As we venture into the future, we trust that we will always be open to the changing needs of our people and respond creatively to them through our academic and religious education programs, our worship experiences, and our service and recreational activities. May the Spirit guide and direct our endeavours.